

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

2014-09-23

Mr. Geoffrey Young Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro Hydro Place, 500 Columbus Drive P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Sir:

Re: Board's Investigation and Hearing into Supply Issues and Power Outages on the Island Interconnected System – Generation Availability Report - Request for Additional Information on Hydro's 2014 Capital Program Status

In *Hydro's 2014 Capital Program Status* update, dated September 16, 2014 Hydro notes technical issues with the commissioning of the variable speed drives. The Board requests confirmation from Hydro that delays in completion of the commissioning of the variable speed fans would not prevent the forced draft fans from being operated and that units will be available for service.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jgylnn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly.

Cheryl Blundon
Board Secretary

/срј

ccc. Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com Mr. Ian Kelly, QC, E-mail: ikelly@curtisdawe.com

Consumer Advocate
Mr. Thomas Johnson, E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca
Ms. Colleen Lacey, E-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca

Mr. Raman Balakrishnan, E-mail: rbalakrishnan@odeaearle.ca

Mr. Danny Dumaresque

Mr. Danny Dumaresque, E-mail: danny.liberal@gmail.com Mr. William Kennedy, E-mail:wkennedy@kennedylawoffice ca Island Industrial Customer Group

Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca

Grand Riverkeeper® Labrador Inc.

Ms. Roberta Frampton Benefiel, B-Mail: rebnfl@gmail.com Mr. Charles O'Brien, E-mail: B-mail; bluegreenlaw@gmail.com

Mr. Philip Raphals, E-mail: Philip@centrehelios.org